RAS in Overdrive!

AAAHHHHH!!

*deep breath*

Ok… So, I think my Restless Applicant Syndrome (RAS) has kicked into overdrive lately.
I mean it’s something that I always deal with but now that my birthday is just around the corner (March 30!) and the Health Desk might be working on July – September departures soon… oh man, it is seriously out. of. control.

Then to top it all off there are now 3 July departures, 3 August departures and 2 September departures posted on PC Wiki… I know it’s not something to “put all my eggs in one basket” as I heard one person say, since anyone could be posting on there, but so far many of the dates seem accurate with the invites I’m hearing about and I know of people who got their invites and mention adding it to the Time line, so I can’t imagine it’s THAT off. You think?

PATIENCE…. PATIENCE…. PATIENCE…

This is my mantra… Is it working? Not so much. I’m trying to distract myself with school work and volunteering but it’s still very tough to completely ignore the RAS itch to check PCJ or PC Wiki. I’ve been doing online training courses that are free and I get a little certificate for completing it, so that’s helped a little. But I still find myself checking my email the second I wake up, or willing my phone to ring with the glorious DC area code.

Dear Peace Corps,

My birthday is in one week. All I want is an invite, ok? Thank you.

Yours Truly,
Ashleigh

About Ashleigh

All the world is my stage. I am a Peace Corps Volunteer living in Malawi, Africa from 2010-2012 as a Community Health Advisor.
This entry was posted in RAS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to RAS in Overdrive!

  1. Amanda Webb says:

    They seem to be finishing up April-June…well they have at least def been churning them out pretty quickly. So one can hope the July-Sept crowd will be hearing something before May or at least a lucky few will. Here is hoping both our birthday wishes come true!

    ps
    What online training courses have you been doing?

  2. laquianicole says:

    If they are finishing up April-June then I better not have to wait not another WEEK! I’m supposed to be leaving May 31st or something like that. And I didn’t know it was called RAS! So suitable since it feels like a disease!

  3. Amanda Webb says:

    I clarified! I said they were churning out the April-June invites. I was using overly hopeful language. And anywho there seems not much reason to the order of invites. I maintain it is luck. Which is sad because I am VERY unlucky

    • girlchamploo says:

      I know! I hate how random things are with them. Maybe there is a method to the madness but really I think they do it just to mess with us! Lol either way it’s working 😦

  4. Jessica says:

    From my experience, the pc wiki timeline has been right on! I think it’s a VERY good indicator of when particularly countries are leaving 🙂

  5. Me, I’m still holding my breath for medical clearance… I keep reminding myself that I SHOULDN”T pester the OMS because my nomination is for September – but goodness gracious, I am 100% positive there is nothing shady about my medical packet/history and I should be easy to clear! But like (other) Amanda says, there seems to be not much reason or logic to the order of invites – I suppose that’s also true for medical clearance. Sigh.

    I second (other) Amanda’s question as well… what online training courses? I did a weekend ESL training course and I’m getting re-certified for CPR/First Aid… what else am I missing?

    -Amanda

    • girlchamploo says:

      To both Amandas!
      The trainings I’m doing I found on this site http://ok.train.org, I had to take this HIV 101 course for my volunteering and it was through that site and I started browsing the site and found they have all kinds of free, web-based study training classes for a ton of subjects! It’s through Oklahoma but I found there is a Kansas version too so maybe there is one for all or most states. Probably http://(state initials).train.org but I’m not 100%.
      If you’re looking on it though make sure you look at the format cuz some are class room based or video conferences, which I guess you could do but the web-based ones are easy to do at home in your free time. Also not all are free and some only offer CEU credits for completing the course which I think involves more work than you want.
      Any way, hope that helps! Thanks for all the comments 🙂
      Cheerio!
      P.S. I just tried a couple different states and there is one for California and Texas too, so I’m pretty sure all the states have their own verion of the TRAIN site, so I’d look for your state to do any of the training.

  6. Elaina says:

    So I’m officially back. It’s been over a month of taking a break and I am definitely not able to stay away any more. After a couple days of serious doubts (I just got engaged!) I am back in full swing. Last year, Benin folks got their invites in the last week of March (from blog recon lol) so you might get your b-day present after all. I hope we’re going to the same place =D

    E

  7. Heidi says:

    Let’s hear it for March 30 b-days!! (that’s mine too!)

    Sending good vibes your way, hang in there!

Leave a comment